of all European Affairs Events, conferences, presentations and workshops.

Municipal climate protection in Europe - the success story of the European Energy Award


26 Nov 2012 17:30 to 21:00


Rue Montoyer 47
Representation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Event Type

L - Conference, forum

Organiser type

Federations / Associations


Climate & Environment

Event Location


Event Description

Mr. Günther Oettinger, EU Commissioner for Energy, Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard, Head of the Swiss Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communication, and Mr. Johannes Remmel, Minister for Climate Protection,
Environment, Agriculture, Nature Protection and Consumer Protection of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, will present the European Energy Award® Gold 2012 to the most progressive energy towns in Europe on
Monday, 26 November 2012, 18:30, at the Representation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia to the European Union
Rue Montoyer 47, 1000 Brussels

The European Energy Award® advances communal climate protection in Europe.
It is a reference instrument of the Covenant of Mayors and has established itself in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, Italy, Hungary, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Morocco and Monaco. Prizes are awarded to communes that have made outstanding efforts to introduce and implement sustainable energy policies.

The event is sponsored by the European Energy Award® together with the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Mission of Switzerland to the European Union.

Registration via


European Energy Award® Gold 2012
Monday, 26 November 2012
18:30 Welcome aperitif

19:00 Words of welcome
Rainer Steffens, Director of the Representation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia to the European Union
Short fi lm – Münster and the eea

19:15 The European Energy Award® at the European level
Dr. Walter Steinmann, Chairman of the Forum European Energy Award e.V.

19:30 Dialogue on the implementation of energy and climate protection targets in municipalities
Swiss Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard
EU Commissioner Günther Oettinger
NRW Climate Protection Minister Johannes Remmel
Trailer – kids explain the European Energy Award®

20:10 Presentation of the prizes
of the European Energy Award® 2012 Gold to 25 European communes from Austria,
France, Germany and Switzerland

20:45 “Walking dinner“ with Swiss specialties

The event will be moderated by Asli Sevindim and Thomas Heyer




IHI - Innovative Health Initiative
Scientific Project Officer
Project Manager
EUI - European University Institute
Director of the Communications Service
LP Brussels
Association Manager
VDMA European Office
Regulatory Manager (m/w/d)
Alber & Geiger
The Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict (GPPAC)
Final External Evaluation Consultant