of all European Affairs Events, conferences, presentations and workshops.

PES Leaders and Prime Ministers Meeting


17 Oct 2018 15:45


Albert Hall
Avenue E Pirmez 9
1040  Brussels


Science & Policymaking

Event Location


Event Description

The Party of European Socialists will hold a PES Leaders and Prime Ministers meeting in Brussels on Wednesday, 17 October ahead of the European Council.
Leaders of the PES member parties and PES prime ministers will gather for a discussion ahead of the summit along with the leader of the S&D group, the president of the COR and the EU Commissioners from the PES family.  

REGISTER HERE (read the special notes below before you register)

17 October 2018, Wednesday

Albert Hall, Avenue E Pirmez 9, 1040 Bruxelles. View map


15:45: Arrival of participants
16:15: Start of the meeting
18:30: End of the meeting

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS  (as of 17.00 PM today)

Updated today with the names of the leaders of the PES member parties who will be attending.

Sergei Stanishev, President, Party of European Socialists

Antonio Costa, Prime Minister of Portugal
Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister of Sweden
Joseph Muscat, Prime Minister of Malta
Peter Pellegrini, Prime Minister of Slovakia
Pedro Sánchez, Prime Minister of Spain

Udo Bullmann, President of the S&D group in the European Parliament

Vytenis Andriukaitis, European Commissioner for Health & Food Safety
Corina Cretu, European Commissioner for Regional Policy
Maros Sefcovic, Vice-President of the European Commission for Energy Union
Frans Timmermans, First Vice-President of the European Commission for Better Regulation, Interinstitutional Relations, the Rule of Law and the Charter of Fundamental Rights
Karmenu Vella, European Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries

Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the European Committee of the Regions
Maria Joao Rodrigues MEP, Vice President of the S&D Group, President of Foundation for European Progressive Studies*

Achim Post, Secretary General, Party of European Socialists

Jean Asselborn, Deputy Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Leader of Luxembourg LSAP
Lodewijk Asscher, Leader of the Dutch Pvda
John Crombez, Leader of SP.A Belgium
Vjačeslavs Dombrovskis, Latvia Saskana
Colum Eastwood, Leader of the Northern Irish SDLP
Elio Di Rupo, Leader of PS Belgium
Olivier Faure, Leader of PS France
Fofi Gennimata, Leader of PASOK, Greece
Maurizio Martina, Leader of the Democratic Party, Italy

Special notes: 
Access to the venue is restricted for security reasons. Media registration is required. All journalists will be required to show press credentials on arrival.



World Shipping Council
Policy Analyst
FEPS (Foundation for European Progressive Studies)
Project Officer
European Endowment for Democracy
Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning analyst
The Estée Lauder Companies Inc.
Senior Public Affairs Manager (EMEA)
Knauf Insulation
EU Public Affairs Manager